The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Rosary has traditionally been composed of 15 mysteries, usually divided into 3 groups of 5 mysteries for easier use. They include the Joyful Mysteries, which recall the childhood of Jesus, the Sorrowful Mysteries, which recall Christ’s Passion, and the Glorious Mysteries, which recall the Resurrection and early life of the Church. In 2002, Pope St. John Paul II added 5 more mysteries to the Rosary, which composed what he called the Luminous Mysteries or the Mysteries of Light. These mysteries reflect upon major events in Jesus’ public ministry. Below, you can find all of the mysteries listed in chronological order as they appear in Scripture. Also included are the fruits of the mysteries, which can be understood and realized while pondering the mystery, and the days on which each set of mysteries is traditionally said.

The Joyful Mysteries

(Mondays, Saturdays, Sundays in Advent and Christmas)

1. The Annunciation. Fruit of the Mystery: Humility

2. The Visitation. Fruit of the Mystery: Love of Neighbors

3. The Nativity. Fruit of the Mystery: Poverty (poor in spirit), Detachment from the things of the world, Contempt of Riches, Love of the Poor

4. The Presentation of Jesus at the Temple. Fruit of the Mystery: Purity, Obedience

5. The Finding of Jesus in the Temple. Fruit of the Mystery: True Wisdom and True Conversion, Piety, Joy of Finding Jesus

The Luminous Mysteries

(Thursdays, Sundays in Ordinary Time after Theophany until Lent)

1. The Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan. Fruit of the Mystery: Openness to the Holy Spirit, the Healer.

2. The Wedding at Cana. Fruit of the Mystery: To Jesus through Mary. The understanding of the ability to manifest-through faith.

3. Jesus’ Proclamation of the Kingdom of God. Fruit of the Mystery: Trust in God (Call of Conversion to Messiah)

4. The Transfiguration. Fruit of the Mystery: Desire for Holiness

5. The Institution of the Eucharist. Fruit of the Mystery: Adoration

The Sorrowful Mysteries

(Tuesdays, Fridays, Sundays during Lent)

1. The Agony in the Garden. Fruit of the Mystery: Sorrow for Sin, Uniformity with the will of God

2. The Scourging at the Pillar. Fruit of the Mystery: Mortification, Purity

3. The Crowning with Thorns. Fruit of the Mystery: Contempt of the world, Courage

4. The Carrying of the Cross. Fruit of the Mystery: Patience

5. The Crucifixion. Fruit of the Mystery: Salvation, Forgiveness

The Glorious Mysteries

(Wednesdays, Sundays during Easter, and Sundays in Ordinary Time after Easter until Advent)

1. The Resurrection. Fruit of the Mystery: Faith

2. The Ascension. Fruit of the Mystery: Hope and desire for ascension to Heaven

3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit. Fruit of the Mystery: Holy Wisdom to know the truth and share with everyone, Divine Charity, Worship of the Holy Spirit

4. The Assumption of Mary. Fruit of the Mystery: Grace of a Happy Death and True Devotion towards Mary

5. The Coronation of the Virgin. Fruit of the Mystery: Perseverance and Crown of Glory, Trust in Mary’s Intercession

It is not required that the mysteries be prayed on their respective days, it merely provides a unity with the rest of the world in our prayer. It is also not necessary to pray the mysteries in the order given. St. John Paul II was known to “mix and match” mysteries from the groups for his meditation.